Random Considerations for Fitness New Year’s Resolutions

I hadn’t thought of these before and thought they were interesting and sharing for your consideration.

I think they both stemmed from Taleb’s Antifragility book, but I’m not so sure about the first one.

1. It’s good to eat a random variety foods rather than the same things every day, or week. Why? All foods contain some natural toxins. If you eat the same things, the levels of those same toxins can build up  in your body.

I have no idea if this is true but I don’t know of too many (any?) downsides in having more variety in a diet, so why not?

2. I just read this one in Taleb’s book (it triggered my memory of #1) and made me think of a personal experience:

Randomness in the quantities and macro nutrient composition (fat, protein, carb) of your daily intake may also be good for you.

Dietary guidelines and diets assume consistent quantities and proportions of things at each meal, or each day. I think we automatically assume that too.

But, Taleb contends our bodies get stronger, more fit, with a bit more randomness. Lots of carbs one day, all protein and fat the next. Skip a meal here and there. He notes most dietary studies are based on consistent intakes, while the effect of random intakes have escaped even being a consideration in those studies.

A personal experience:

As I lost weight 12 years ago, I allowed myself one splurge every five to seven days. I figured if I was “good” the rest of the days, one bender wouldn’t hurt too bad, and would help keep me good the rest of the days.

I would splurge on random things — but it was usually carbs. One week might be a banana split. The next might be a pasta dinner.

I expected to hop on the scale the day after my splurge and see a temporary reversal in my progress. Yet, I was often surprised, on occasion to see the positive progress had continued, sometimes accelerated.

I can’t say for sure how many times that happened. It wasn’t even something I considered that could be a cause. But, it happened enough for it stick in my memory.

I never thought much about that. I thought those were flukes. I was sure there was no way that the splurge would help me temporarily. That didn’t fit with any mental model on diet and weight loss that I knew about.

Then I read #2 and it made me wonder. Maybe that 5-7 day splurge helped more than as a reward for being “good” the rest of the time. Maybe it even played a bigger role in my overall weight loss than I ever imagined.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Random Considerations for Fitness New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I thought I’d share this somewhat amusing story.

    I put “Antifragility” on hold at my local library. You’ve been talking about it so much, I figured I should give it a read. Anyway, it came in yesterday and I was going to pick it up but I forgot. Later that day as I was biking home from work, I noticed a book by the side of the road. I stopped, got off my bike and picked it up.

    It was a (slightly dirty) new copy of “Antifragility”, complete with bookmark and a receipt from a local bookstore. I popped it in my bag and biked home.

    • That is fitting and funny. I hope you enjoy it.

      It’s the first book that I had on e-checkout from the library that I went ahead and bought for my own collection.

Comments

