Robin Hood would be proud

Reading the comments of the Landsburg post that I linked to and quoted from in my previous post, I see a pet peeve of mine. Someone resorted to Robin Hood’s logic:

I suppose the argument can be made that dollar-for-dollar, the wage of the government employee has a higher utility than the lower tax for the taxpayer?

For folks who make such an argument, I wonder how they would respond if I were to make the argument for taking their money to give to someone who I think has better use for it.

That kind of thinking is what breathes life to bad government.

Update: But Google, there are people that have more utility for your profits than your shareholders. Why must you dodge taxes? Oh yeah, I forgot. You’re just trying not be evil.

One thought on “Robin Hood would be proud

  1. Pingback: The marginal utility trap | Our Dinner Table

Comments

