A conversation about the IRS with a friend

Friend: If you don’t mind me asking, what would the libertarian take be on the IRS debacle?

Me: I don’t mind. My guess is that a libertarian wouldn’t be surprised.

After all, they believe power corrupts, so this is the predictable outcome with a powerful political organization. That’s why I think they would say that we should try to minimize the corruptible institutions and try to limit their power as much as possible.

Avoiding such corruption is pretty simple. Don’t give it that much power. Would the IRS have the power to shakedown the President’s political opponents if the tax code were simple and flat, without exceptions?

Friend: Huh…I guess not. I hadn’t thought of it that way.

Comments

