My limited vp debate observations

I don’t watch much of the debates, which surprises my friends.

I watched about 10 minutes of last night’s debate. Here are some of the things I observed and some thoughts on what I have heard since.

Joe Biden reminded me of Will Farrell’s character in the late summer movie, The Campaign. Fake teeth, hair plugs and cheesy charm and all.

More folks should be bothered with the way politicians on both sides refer to ‘tax plans’. It’s unclear what the point of their ‘tax plans’ are. It seems like one key point is to raise even more tax revenue. I don’t care about raising more tax revenue. I would rather hear politicians talk about how they are going to lower spending and minimize taxes for everyone and do the job of executing the Constitution with the most minimal impact on society as possible. Since we don’t hear much of that, I know the direction of government is still a long way from where I’d like it to be.

Democrats say that it was a draw or gave a slight edge to Biden. I even heard some Democrats praise Biden for his distracting behavior.  If a Republican acted in the same fashion, I doubt the Democrats would be praising it. They would call it a loss.

I don’t often quote the Bible, but a caller to a radio show this morning shared his thought on the debate in the form of Proverbs 29:9 and I thought it was good:

If a wise man has an argument with a fool, the fool only rages and laughs, and there is no quiet.

Biden’s remarks on Iran scared me and would have been enough for me to decide not to vote for that ticket if I was undecided.

I heard Ryan give a few zingers. I thought that bringing the unemployed back into the economic picture and saying that they aren’t feeling the recovery was a good line.

However, I also think Ryan (again in my small sample of about ten minutes) got into eye-glaze territory when he was explaining his Medicare proposal.

Just scoring on body language — which is about what any of these things are good for — I would say Ryan carried himself well against a more seasoned performer.

Ryan looked more ‘vice-presidential’ and like he has some future leadership potential. He didn’t fumble, which is all he needed to do.

As I mentioned earlier, Biden looked like a caricature of a politician portrayed by Ferrell.

 

One thought on “My limited vp debate observations

  1. It has long been my contention that Democrats champion welfare programs for the purpose of “buying” votes. Let’s look at some of Mr. Biden’s rationale from the debate as it pertains to responsibility and incentives. In regards to setting a firm deadline for withdrawal from Afghanistan, Mr. Biden stated:

    “It is the responsibility of the Afghans to take care of their own security”

    and

    “Unless you set a timeline, Baghdad in the case of Iraq and — and Kabul in the case of Afghanistan will not step up. They’re happy to let us continue to do the job — international security forces to do the job. The only way they step up is say, fellas, we’re leaving; we’ve trained you; step up. Step up.”

    Evidently, Mr. Biden understands that people should take responsibility for themselves and that if our government removes the incentive for them to do so, they won’t “step up”, they’ll continue to let others do the work for them.

    As he clearly understands the concept of incentives when it comes to encouraging people to step up and care of themselves, how can he not see that these same economic truths apply to the conditions the left tries to solve with its welfare programs? Perhaps he does understand the difference just as he understands that he has nothing to gain in giving handouts to the Afghanis – because they don’t vote in our elections – but his handouts in the US may help to keep him in office.

    Let’s move on to Mr. Biden’s stance regarding when a politician should let impose his religious beliefs on others and when he shouldn’t. Apparently, when it comes to abortion, Mr. Biden thinks his religious views shouldn’t enter the picture.

    “With regard to abortion, I accept my church’s position on abortion…. but I just refuse to impose that on others.”

    While I might not agree with him, if he was consistent, I would at least respect his opinion. However, when he juxtaposes his “separation of church and state” position above with statements like,

    “My religion defines who I am. And I’ve been a practicing Catholic my whole life. And it has particularly informed my social doctrine. Catholic social doctrine talks about taking care of those who — who can’t take care of themselves, people who need help.”

    followed by accusing Mr. Ryan of deviating from Catholic social doctrine because Ryan doesn’t apply Biden’s interpretation of Catholic social doctrine to his legislative policies. Evidently to Mr. Biden, it’s wrong to impose your religious beliefs on others when the topic is abortion, but when the topic is welfare programs, it’s OK. But wait, we established earlier that Biden understands the concept of personal responsibility and the need for eliminating the incentives that make it easy for people to not step up. So, is Biden’s push for welfare programs really about his pious claim that he feels compelled for religious purposes alone to take care of those who can’t (or won’t) take care of themselves or is it really his selfish desire to be re-elected?

Comments

