The King of Beers

 

 

This post about higher prices on tortillas packaged as ‘wraps’, reminded me of some thinking I’ve been doing lately about beer.

 

First, I noticed that the stalwart beers are Bud Light and Miller Lite. They have been for some time, so this isn’t anything new. But, I think it’s interesting that they use the word ‘light’ to distinguish it, rather than ‘diet’.

 

“Diet Bud”, “Diet Budweiser” and “Diet Miller” just doesn’t have a very appealing ring to it. Yet, “Diet Coke” seems better. What about “Coke Light”?

 

Second, I’ve recently switched away from diet beers. I drink more regular beer now. It seems that a lot of the folks who drink diet beer are overweight, so something isn’t working.

 

A family member who rarely drinks non-diet beers had a Budweiser at my house recently. He said, “Wow. This is good beer.” I pointed to the label, and noted, “Of course, it’s the King of Beers.”

 

2 thoughts on “The King of Beers

  1. Pingback: Cheap Beer Is Not Necessarily BAD Beer. | GETREALHAMMERED.COM

  2. For the record, “Coke Light” exists in many international markets. I believe it usually has something to do with how “diet” translates, or does not translate well, in other languages.

Comments

