A Thank You and Requests to Readers of Our Dinner Table

Tyler Cowen’s and Alex Tabarrok’s blog, Marginal Revolution just clocked 50 million visitors to a picture of fireworks.

While Our Dinner Table has nowhere near that kind of traffic, I did want to take the opportunity to thank the readers and commenters to this blog.

I enjoy writing it and I get many benefits from it. It gives me writing practice. It allows me to iron out my thoughts on topics I find interesting. It gives me a place to vent. Some people collect cars or Coca-Cola memorabilia, I like to “collect” ideas that I find compelling and persuasive that either convinced me to change my mind or think a little differently on a subject, or at least, better articulate why I believe what I do.

I find this blog to be an excellent way to collect those ideas, because I can access it anywhere that has an internet connection and search on it (using the little search box in the right margin). And, I do. Frequently.

I also find it very motivating knowing a few people take time out of their busy lives to read this. Whether you do it because you love it, like it or hate it, it’s an honor and I appreciate it.

I would like to make a few requests.

First, I love to hear from you. I greatly appreciate comments. I think those add a great deal of value and perspective. I especially like disagreement. I find that challenging and it helps me identify and address holes in my thinking.

Each post has a Leave a Comment link at the bottom of it. Feel free to click and comment. This blog does not require you use your real name or provide your email when commenting.

If you enjoy Our Dinner Table, please share it with others who you might think will love it, like it or hate it too.

If you have feedback for me, let me know. I like feedback.

Finally, if you have any topics that you wonder what or why I believe what I do, just ask. I would love to do more reader-inspired blog posts.

Thank You!

7 thoughts on “A Thank You and Requests to Readers of Our Dinner Table

  1. Hi Seth, I don’t know if it’s possible or not, but it would be nice if we could comment on “old” posts and that the posts were listed not in chronological order, but in order of the most recent comment. I often have an epiphany about or read something relevant to an old post, but I usually refrain from commenting on old stuff (the education post is an exception) because I think that most people won’t bother with an old post (unless they are aware that a new comment has been made).

    Or maybe that “Recent Comments” headline to the right the page that I just noticed should be my clue that I haven’t been paying enough attention!

    • Hi Mike, That’s a great idea. I’m not sure how to make it so that you can sort the posts based on most recent comments, but I’ll keep an eye out for adding that feature.

      In the meantime, here’s a few things to consider. In the right margin is a ‘recent comments’ box that is sort of like what you’re asking. I just expanded that to show the 10 most recent comments and moved it closer to the top to improve the chances that other visitors will see it.

      Second, I get quite a few visitors on old blog posts from search engines that take the visitors directly to those posts. So, while it may not be the hot topic of the day, over time, other people will see those older posts and your comments may be helpful to them.

      Plus, I see all the comments come through. So, I will usually comment on those and I sometimes will make a new post out of an update to an old post based on information put in the comments.

      Thanks for reading and participating! I appreciate and enjoy your comments.

  2. Seth, thanks for your contribution to the blogosphere and to providing your rational and concise perspective. I appreciate you bringing up topics that (like your blog title says) can (and should) be discussed over the dinner table. As an engineer with a layman’s/hobbiest’s interest in economics, thanks for putting your thoughts in terms I can understand. And as I believe we have similar interests, it’s interesting to read your perspective on posts/articles after I’ve already seen them.

    I’ll try my best to find issues where we don’t agree, I love to discuss things with people with whom I disagree. Likewise, I’ll see what I can find to bring up.

    Thanks again for your work!

    • Hi breedm – Thanks for the feedback. It does seem like we have similar interests and backgrounds.

      And thanks for noticing my attempt to put things in terms that non-economists can understand. That’s one of my goals. I enjoy reading economics blogs, but most of my friends and family don’t and it took me years of reading those blogs to get to the point where I had a pretty good understanding of what they were saying, so I use this blog to experiment with ways to present topics to my friends and family in ways they might interesting and understandable. And I appreciate the help I have received from the commenters and some of my fellow layperson bloggers over the years.

      • Oh, and another thing- I like your tone: you write like you’re talking to a small group of people and you respond in a personal way to most (if not all) comments. It keeps me engaged, but I can imagine how this might be difficult to sustain over a long period and as your readership increases (as I think it should and inevitably will!)

        For a discussion topic: what do you think about our (basically) two-party system? Should we move past this age where we’re supposed to think a party represents our views? Or is it that we’ve gotten ourselves into trouble by limiting ourselves to two choices and we are choosing “NOT ___(the_other_guy)__”? How do we move past this Lesser of Two Evils Politics?

        You may have talked about this before and I just don’t recall. If so, what about in the context of the 2012 Presedential Election? With the two major candidates selected, those of us who pay regular attention to national issues can probably pretty well make up our minds already. There won’t be any substantive change in what we know or how we see the candidates between now and then. Is voting third party throwing my vote away?

        Thanks,
        Ben

        • Thanks for the feedback and kind words. It’s funny that you mention the small group thing. I do a fair number of business presentations to small groups and I usually imagine talking to those small groups as I’m writing.

          That’s a great topic. I have some thoughts on it and I think I’ve just touched on it in the past. I’ll see if I can find those and complete my thoughts a little more.

  3. Pingback: Two parties | Our Dinner Table

Comments

