Innovators v Bureaucrats

If I could draw, I’d draw one picture titled “Current Politics”

It would have an innovator blowing up a balloon with the word “Economy” on it.

Then I’d have another person, labeled “Bureaucrat” holding three straws that are inserted into the side of the balloon.

The first straw is tiny. The bureaucrat directs air from the balloon back onto to the innovator and says: “See how much I’m helping you? I’m making sure we’ll be competitive for the future. Vote for me!

The second straw is larger than the first. The bureaucrat directs it to a group of people labeled “cronies”. The bureaucrat says to them, “See how much I’m helping you? Vote for me! Also, I’ll be looking for a job in a few years.

The third straw is larger yet. The bureaucrat directs it to a group of people with their hands out.  They’re labeled “Special Interests”.  The bureaucrat says to this group, “See how much I’m helping you? I’m solving your problems. Vote for me.

The second picture would be titled, “How it should work”

Innovator is blowing up the balloon. The politician stands behind him facing all the people – special interests, cronies and voters. The politician says, “Get off his back and we will all be just fine. If you have a problem you want solved, do what he’s doing — solve it.  Vote for me.

Comments

