Who are the bad guys?

I watched Star Wars Episode III: Return of the Sith with my son over this holiday break, again.  It’s been awhile since he’s seen this episode.  It’s interesting to see what new things he notices when he sees it again.

In this episode, Chancellor Palpatine announces in the Senate chambers that he is dissolving the (democratic) Republic to form the (tyrannical) Empire and everyone applauds.

Padme Amidala (mother to Luke and Leia Skywalker, and naive pawn in Palpatine’s rise to power) says:

So this is how liberty dies…with thunderous applause.

My son asked, “Why are they clapping for the Empire?  Isn’t the Empire bad?

I told my son that they don’t yet realize how bad the Empire is.  And, I also mentioned that’s exactly what frustrates me about politics:  People clap for the bad guys and never realize it.

Comments

