Kindle Everywhere

There was a homeless dude that camped near my home as a child.  We always saw him walking along the business strip and he often came into the shops and diners while we were there.  He’d chat with the business owners, something would change hands and he’d walkout.

Everybody liked him.  He was always nice and polite and even as a kid I recognized that he would do odd jobs for the business owners in exchange for a few bucks, a cup of coffee or bite to eat. That’s just the way things were.  They were that way for a long time before I was born.

His name was Kendall.  My brother and I would see him and say, “Man, that Kendall is everywhere.”

Back then, I never would have guessed our childhood observation would inspire the title of a blog post.  Nor could I imagine what blogs or computers were.

Back in this post, I wrote that one of the things keeping me from buying a Kindle was that I couldn’t check out library books on it or it didn’t have a Netflix-like subscription plan for checking out books.

I only buy a few of the books that I read.  I didn’t want to have to start buying more just to have something to read on a Kindle.

Not long ago, Amazon.com started offering Kindle library checkouts through a service called Overdrive.  My library hooked up with Overdrive.  I have a Kindle app for my iPhone.  I’ve read portions of a few free Kindle books on my iPod and iPhone, but nothing that has had held my interest of yet.

Until now.

I borrowed (or downloaded) Daniel Hannan‘s The New Road to Serfdom.  It’s holding my interest.  And, since the phone goes just about everywhere I go, so does the Kindle App that is loaded on it and my library checkouts.

Now, I’m finding new snippets of time to read my library books that I could not use to read before because it was too difficult to carry library books everywhere.

For example, this evening while I waited in line at a retailer, I pulled out my iPhone, tapped the Kindle app and read a few screens of my borrowed library book.

And for good measure, here’s a great quote from Hannan’s book that I read while standing in line.  Here, he’s contrasting the Constitutions of the United States and the European Union (p. 44):

Where the one was based on empowering the people and controlling the state, the other was based on empowering the state and controlling the people.

I’m sure you can guess which was which.  Or maybe not.  Who knows?

Anyway, thanks to the folks at Amazon, Apple, Overdrive and my local library and the ever present communications networks (that allowed me to check out a library book and receive it instantaneously and not have to worry about getting it back on time) for helping me improve my life a little bit and read books in places I would not before.

Comments

