Sports

For a change of pace, on this week’s EconTalk┬ápodcast Russ Roberts interviews David Epstein about his book, The Sports Gene. It is worth a listen.

I don’t recall there being a boring part to it and I think it will have wide appeal for sports fans, anybody who has played sports or just ran around the yard playing tag and anybody with kids who are interested or not interested in sports.

I learned things about what my body type is well-suited for that fits with my experience. You might, too.

It has lots of good discussion on nature/nurture, gaining 10,000 hours of deliberate experience and what we think we know about what makes us better at something isn’t necessarily true.

There was also some debunking on what we think makes a good hitter in baseball. Perhaps my micro teacher gave up too soon. He played in the minors and said he decided to quit when a fellow batter, who happened to be a good hitter, told him the secret was watching the ball to see where the spot was.

It turns out that nobody quite has reflexes for that. It’s more about reading visual cues of the wind up and release and projecting the path of the ball based on that.

That reminds me of a sports science show that tested something similar with soccer player Cristiano Ronaldo. They shut the lights out as soon as someone kicked a ball across the net to see if he could still play it into the net. He could. Why? Because of experience. He’s reacted to a ball tens if not hundreds of thousands of times and his body has a good sense of the path of the ball based on what he sees from the kick.

I wonder how many players quit too soon because some player told them something untrue like that. Perhaps the answer is more about practice than anything.

One thought on “Sports

  1. my sport of choice is disc golf and I think there is a real ‘zen’ to it. I heard once that golfers and batters have been hooked up to eegs and their brainwave activity drops when they are swinging. its a ‘muscle memory’ or a ‘reflex’. im pretty sure the same thing happens in disc golf. my best throws come when I _don’t_ think about them at all. ive only got one ace, and I knew it was going to be an ace the microsecond it left my hand.

Comments

